Blog Tour Review: Muted

Thank you so much to Terminal Tours for the opportunity to be on this blog tour!

Title: Muted
Author: Tami Charles
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: February 2, 2021
Genres: YA Contemporary

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Official Synopsis

Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.

For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown.

So Denver is more than ready on the day she and her best friends Dali and Shak sing their way into the orbit of the biggest R&B star in the world, Sean “Mercury” Ellis. Merc gives them everything: parties, perks, wild nights — plus hours and hours in the recording studio. Even the painful sacrifices and the lies the girls have to tell are all worth it.

Until they’re not.

Denver begins to realize that she’s trapped in Merc’s world, struggling to hold on to her own voice. As the dream turns into a nightmare, she must make a choice: lose her big break, or get broken.

Inspired by true events, Muted is a fearless exploration of the dark side of the music industry, the business of exploitation, how a girl’s dreams can be used against her — and what it takes to fight back.

Review

Muted is a gripping, powerful novel in verse is about a young singer who dreams of breaking into the music industry–and the dark events of what happens after she does. Denver is sick of her parents emotional and physical absence in her life, as well as their clear disdain for her love of music and singing. So when she gets a chance of a lifetime to record music with a bigshot R&B star, she and her best friend Dali decide to take it, no matter the cost. Denver’s story is heartbreaking–some of the decisions she makes are hard to understand, but her voice was so powerful through the poetry. She’s always speaking to her father, a man she wishes she could be closer with. Her dreams, her fears, every emotion is laid bare in this book. I was immediately sucked into her story and it wasn’t easy to put the book down.

Dali was an interesting character to have beside Denver. As her best friend and Denver’s biggest crush, she wanted her music career as much as Denver did. She was willing to do so much for it. And sometimes this got in the way of their friendship. I loved seeing the conflict between the two girls and how they forgave each other and grew together. I almost wish there was a little more of Dali in the book, but her moments in the book really made the story shine.

This quick-paced, suspenseful book ends with quite an ending that literally left me reeling. I’m still not even sure how I feel about it, though I will definitely be thinking about it for a long time.

Overall Feelings

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This is a beautifully written coming-of-age novel with amazing voice and compelling themes about finding your voice; perfect for fans of Tiffany D. Jackson and Elizabeth Acevedo.

Find more reviews and other bookish extras by exploring the rest of the blog tour here.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s